Photo by Theo Wargo/Getty Images; Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images for CBS Radio

NIN, Soundgarden Featured on ‘Westworld’ Soundtrack

Songs by rockers such as Nine Inch Nails and Soundgarden are covered on Westworld: Season 1 (Music From the HBO Series), a 34-track collection that came out this week following the season finale.

The renditions are played by pianist and recurring Westworld character (and original score composer) Ramin Djawadi and sound different, and notably softer, than the originals. Among the songs repurposed for the set are Nine Inch Nails' "Something I Can Never Have," Soundgarden's "Black Hole Sun," the Rolling Stones' "Paint It Black," the Animals' "House of the Rising Sun" and the Radhiohead songs "No Surpise," "Fake Plastic Trees," "Motion Picture Soundtrack" and "Exit Music (For A Film)."

Westworld has been renewed for a second season, which is expected to start next September.


Gary Graff is an award-winning music journalist who not only covers music but has written books on Bob Seger, Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen.