Photo by Theo Wargo/Getty Images for Citi

‘Singles’ Soundtrack Getting 25th Anniversary Re-release

Back in 1992, the film Singles showcased Seattle's grunge rock scene as the backdrop for director Cameron Crowe's story about single twenty-somethings in the city. Its soundtrack -- which featured songs from Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Alice In Chains and others -- will get a 25th anniversary re-release on February 17.

The new edition comes with a second disc that will include songs that didn't make the cut for the original release as well as demos Soundgarden frontman Chris Cornell wrote for Citizen Dick, the film's fictional band fronted by Matt Dillon's character and featuring members of Pearl Jam in the lineup.

Smashing Pumpkins' Billy Corgan, however, revealed last year that he had turned down a request for a demo for his group's "Down" to be included in the project.

The full track list for the 25th anniversary release includes:
Disc 1
1. “Would?” — Alice in Chains
2. “Breath” — Pearl Jam
3. “Seasons” — Chris Cornell
4. “Dyslexic Heart” — Paul Westerberg
5. “Battle of Evermore” — The Lovemongers
6. “Chloe Dancer / Crown of Thorns” — Mother Love Bone
7. “Birth Ritual” — Soundgarden
8. “State of Love and Trust” — Pearl Jam
9. “Overblown” — Mudhoney
10. “Waiting for Somebody” — Paul Westerberg
11. “May This Be Love” — Jimi Hendrix
12. “Nearly Lost You” — Screaming Trees
13. “Drown” — Smashing Pumpkins

Disc 2

1. “Touch Me I’m Dick” — Citizen Dick
2. “Nowhere But You” — Chris Cornell
3. “Spoonman” — Chris Cornell
4. “Flutter Girl” — Chris Cornell
5. “Missing” — Chris Cornell
6. “Would?” — Alice in Chains
7. “It Ain’t Like That” — Alice in Chains
8. “Birth Ritual” — Soundgarden
9. “Dyslexic Heart” — Paul Westerberg
10. “Waiting for Somebody” — Paul Westerberg
11.“Overblown”— Mudhoney
12. “Heart and Lungs” — Truly
13. “Six Foot Under” — Blood Circus
14. “Singles Blues 1” — Mike McCready
15. “Blue Heart” — Paul Westerberg
16. “Lost in Emily’s Woods” — Paul Westerberg
17. “Ferry Boat #3” — Chris Cornell
18. “Score Piece #4” — Chris Cornell

Gary Graff is an award-winning music journalist who not only covers music but has written books on Bob Seger, Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen.