Songwriters Hall Of Fame Now Includes Petty & Costello

Tom Petty and Elvis Costello will be among this year's inductees into the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

The two will take part in the annual ceremony on June 9 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City, joined by the late Motown great Marvin Gaye, Chip Taylor -- best known for writing the Troggs' Wild Thing -- and the Chic team of Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards.

More inductees and special award honorees will be announced as well.

More notable, perhaps, are the names on the final ballot who did NOT make it into the Hall this year, a list that includes Jimi Hendrix, George Harrison, Jeff Lynne, John Mellencamp, Steve Miller, Michael McDonald, Sly Stone and Madonna, among others.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame was co-founded in 1969 by Johnny Mercer and inductees are chosen by professional songwriters and music publishers.

Gary Graff is an award-winning music journalist who not only covers music but has written books on Bob Seger, Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen.