Photo from Warner Bros. Records

New Muse Album ‘Drones’ Due Out June 8th

Muse has announced a June 8 release for its seventh studio album, Drones, which the group recorded with famed producer Robert John "Mutt" Lang, who's helmed blockbuster albums for AC/DC, Def Leppard, Foreigner, the Cars and his ex-wife, Shania Twain.

Muse will premiere the new song "Psycho" on its YouTube channel at 1 p.m. EST today (March 12), with a six-date U.K. tour kicking off Sunday (March 15) in Belfast and wrapping up March 23 in Brighton. The first official single, "Dead Inside," is due out March 23, and in a statement Muse frontman Matt Bellamy said that there's a strong socio-political undercurrent to the album:

"To me, 'Drones' are metaphorical psychopaths which enable psychopathic behaviour with no recourse. The world is run by Drones utilizing Drones to turn us all into Drones. This album explores the journey of a human, from their abandonment and loss of hope to their indoctrination by the system to be a human drone, to their eventual defection from their oppressors."

Muse is expected to announce full-scale tour plans to promote Drones in the near future. The group's last album, The 2nd Law, was its fourth consecutive No. 1 in the U.K. and debuted at No. 2 on the Billboard 200, the group's highest-ever U.S. chart peak. The full Drones track list includes:

  1.         Dead Inside
  2.         [Drill Sergeant]
  3.         Psycho
  4.         Mercy
  5.         Reapers
  6.         The Handler
  7.         [JFK]
  8.         Defector
  9.         Revolt
  10.      Aftermath
  11.      The Globalist
  12.      Drones


Gary Graff is an award-winning music journalist who not only covers music but has written books on Bob Seger, Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen.